NightsBridge Client Tutorials

How to cancel a booking

Sometimes a guest's plans change and they can no longer make their trip. When that happens, you will need to quickly remove their booking from your NightsBridge calendar so that the room is open and available for someone else to book. We've made this incredibly simple to do with just a few quick clicks!

Here is how to quickly cancel a manual or direct booking:

Open the booking details:

Start by clicking directly on the guest's booking right on your calendar to open up the full Booking Details.

Click cancel:

Find and click the 'Cancel' button.

Confirm your update:

A little window will pop up to make sure you want to go ahead. Simply type in a quick reason for the cancellation, and click the 'Confirm' button.

And just like that, the window will close and the booking will be neatly removed from your calendar, leaving your room perfectly open and available for your next booking!

How to handle bookings from channels

If a guest booked through an online channel (like Booking.com or Airbnb), it is best not to cancel it directly on NightsBridge. Because the booking started on their platform, the guest will need to initiate the cancellation directly with that specific booking channel first.

Expand or collapse content Why hasn't an online booking automatically cancelled on my calendar?

When a guest cancels a booking through an online channel, the cancellation is normally sent to NightsBridge and the booking is automatically cancelled on your calendar.

However, NightsBridge cannot automatically cancel the booking if there are financial transactions or charges attached to it.

A booking cannot be automatically cancelled if:

  • An invoice has been created for the booking
  • Extras have been charged to the booking
  • The booking account has been closed

This prevents NightsBridge from automatically changing a booking where financial information has already been processed.

What should I do if the booking has an extra attached?

If an extra has been charged to the booking, you will need to remove the extra before the booking can be cancelled.

If the account containing the extra has already been closed:

  1. Reopen the account.
  2. Remove the extra from the booking.
  3. Cancel the booking.

See How to remove an extra charged to a booking for instructions on removing an extra.

Important: If the booking has already been invoiced, review the invoice and account before cancelling the booking. Do not simply remove charges that have already been financially processed without first confirming how they should be handled.

Previous Article How to add a booking to your calendar
Next Article How to restore a cancelled booking
Still Need Help? Contact Us